Re: Looking for New Owner in 22-Year-Old League

Mark Neuenschwander
October 24, 2010 06:54PM
Good afternoon Dave,

This certainly sounds like an interesting league, with a wealth of history and long-time membership.

First, a bit about me:

I am a 27 year old Sales Engineer, working for a Japanese automotive parts supplier for Honda and Acura vehicles. I am currently located in Washington Court House, OH (about halfway between Cincinnati and Columbus), after graduating from the University of Cincinnati in 2006.

Due to the magic of Ted Turner and the TBS network, this boy from eastern Ohio grew up not as a Pirates or Indians fan, but instead spent many years following the pitching prowess of the Atlanta Braves. Admittedly, the Reds have recently become a close #2 in my heart due to the time I still spend in the city and my ease of access in getting to Great American Ball Park.

I have been playing fantasy baseball for about ten years now, with the earliest league I remember during my later high school years. Until recently, I have mostly played in the standard Roto or H2H mixed leagues. But three years ago I started playing Scoresheet on recommendation from several of the sabermetric sites I follow.

I love reading detailed baseball analysis and my favorite time of the year is fast approaching as the new annuals from Baseball HQ, The Hardball Times, and Baseball Prospectus will soon be arriving in my mailbox.

Scoresheet baseball has been a much more involved and fun style of play for me. Any game that emphasizes the finer details of real baseball management (bench players and bullpen construction) is ultimately more interesting. And adding in your league's salary cap restrictions and contract length adds another level of complexity that intrigues me.